Project Management Professional


Essential Information

Project Management Professional Certification, also known as PMP certification, is a designation given by the Project Management Institute (PMI) to professionals who meet certain education and experience criteria. There are a number of requirements that professionals must meet before they can apply for certification. Once an application has been accepted and approved, the individual must pass a lengthy and comprehensive exam to become a certified associate in project management.

  • 4,500 hours leading and directing project and a bachelor's degree might be required. Programs last about 12 weeks

PMP Certificate Programs

Our core project management training courses are designed to help professionals master key skills to ultimately help improve project management in their organization; these courses provide a solid foundation for future project management training. Common courses include:

  • Planning
  • Communication
  • Leadership
  • Risk management

Employment Outlook & Salary Info

Project management skills are applicable in almost any business setting and can be a great way to leverage personal value to an organization. Individuals who meet the requirements should consider obtaining a certificate if they want to focus their career on project management or leadership. The PMI has thousands of members in various countries and their Project Management Professional Certification is a globally recognized designation.

Continuing Education Information

Professionals who pass the exam and receive their certification need to keep up with continuing education requirements in order to keep their designation. Certificate holders must complete 60 professional development units (PDUs) in each three-year period to maintain their qualification. PDUs can be obtained through a variety of activities, including public speaking, full-time project management responsibilities and writing articles for publication.

Many people pursuing PMP certification devote weeks or months to study in advance of the test to ensure they have covered the essential topics of the syllabus. The exam is broken into five sections: project initiation, planning, execution, monitoring and closing. Currently, the exam includes 200 multiple choice questions that cover a wide range of subjects, including code of ethics issues and conflict resolution.